Things To Know

If you're coming to Canada for a meeting or convention, this is the place to find all the practical resources, tools, information and tips you'll need to make your trip a memorable one. For example, find out more on:

  • Clearing customs
  • Exchanging currency
  • Reserving a rental car
  • Finding the most scenic or speedy ways to travel.

Time Zones

Canada encompasses six of the world's 24 time zones. From east to west, they are: Newfoundland Standard Time Zone, Atlantic Standard Time Zone, Eastern Standard Time Zone, Central Standard Time Zone, Mountain Standard Time Zone and Pacific Standard Time Zone. Some provinces and territories encompass two time zones within their borders. View the interactive map to show the six Canadian time zones as well as current times in all zones.

Pacific Time, Canada's westernmost time zone, is eight hours behind Coordinated Universal Time during the observance of Standard Time; it is 7 hours behind during Daylight Saving Time. The easternmost time zone is Newfoundland Time, which is 4-1/2 hours ahead of Pacific Time.

Daylight Saving Time

Daylight Saving Time is in effect in Canada (except Saskatchewan) from the second Sunday of March to the first Sunday of November. Saskatchewan observes Standard Time year-round. For information on the start and end of Daylight Saving Time across the provinces and territories, visit the National Research Council website.